Award Winning Doctors

2021 OPW Award Winners

Awards presented at the 2021 OPW Convention


2021 Optometrist of the Year - Linda Medeski


This year's recipient of the Optometrist of the Year award has done just about everything an O.D. can do and more. 

She is a champion of optometry rights and works tirelessly to make sure that we can all practice to our fullest extent.   If you have ever seen her in action at Day In Olympia, you have witnessed something great.  She can talk to anyone from a new first year optometry student who is coming to DIO for the first time to the top dog in any legislative chamber.  She is fearless and brave and knows her stuff!There are literally 2 pages, single spaced, of all of the positions she has held within OPW.  Some of the highlights are:

-          Legislative keyperson-          Federal legislative keyperson-          Grassroots team leader-          Children's vision task force-          Awards team leader-          Neuro-rehab team leader-          PR director-          Treasurer-          Secretary-          Society President

And that's just the OPW-related things that she does!This amazing doctor is also an active and vital member in both COVD: the College of Optometrists in Vision Development and NORA: the Neuro Optometric Rehabilitation Association. She somehow also finds time to volunteer at her church as a Eucharistic minister, volunteer with the rotary association for projects like hurricane relief, work with the homeless shelter, and is a Santa's Posse volunteer where she helps the local sheriff's office with food, toys, and gifts during the holiday season.That would be two or three full time jobs for the average person, but this OD of the Year winner also owns and runs a successful private practice in Vancouver.  She has been in practice for 30 years and has the respect and admiration of all of her peers. Truthfully, she should be the winner of the OD of the Year award every year because she is an inspiring, amazing, force of nature.   Everyone who meets her is better to have known our friend and colleague, Linda Medeski.


2021 Young OD of the Year - Andrea Morton

"Dr. Morton was a classmate of mine, and it was clear on day 1 of Optometry school that she would be a dedicated and strong advocate to the profession.
Graduating with both a Masters in Education as well as a Doctorate in 2015, Dr. Morton returned home to her hometown of Camas, WA. While balancing a full time job as an OD, she is also a busy Mom, utilizing her platform to educate about Infantsee to local parenting groups and pediatricians. As Southwest society President, Andrea fostered relationships with legislators and orchestrated the first ever SW Eye Symposium, providing a day of CE to local providers.Her list of service to both the public and to her state association is extensive and ever-growing. Recently, she became a Fellow of the College of Optometry in Vision Development. I am proud to call her a classmate and colleague."

                          ~ by Justin C. Dalke, O.D., 2020 Young OD of the Year


2021 Presidents Award - Christen Jankowski

Dr. J has held a long commitment to his country starting with his commitment in the ROTC in 1967. Following his graduation from optometry school, he held the rank of Captain. Shortly after starting his private practice, he was called up to serve in Desert Storm. SW Society colleagues banded together to cover his practice until he returned. He then continued with the army in the reserves until 1999 where he held the final rank of Lieutenant Colonel upon retiring.

Dr. J has had an incredible career and often worked tirelessly through the years to support optometry by holing many positions within OPW such as society president, Title XIX committee member, SW trustee (twice), and legal chair. He has participated in DIO most every year where he continued to foster legislative relationships and advocating for our profession. He also brought his brand of quiet service to his friends as he filled in for a colleague during a time or personal crisis at short notice.


2021 Shining Star Award - Cynthia Ruggeiro

Dr. Ruggeiro headed the Covid Task Force during the pandemic. She successfully led her team to sift through hundreds of scientific papers to inform fellow OPW members on the specifics of the corona virus. The Task Force showed us how to practice safely, how to re-open our offices, advocated for optometry at the State level and answered vital questions through the formulation of the Covid Digest. She has truly gone above and beyond through her dedicated service to this Task Force and she is a Shining Star within the OPW family.